Why I put off Macs for years

Posted:
in iPad edited January 2014
For many years I felt Macs were nice and maybe had merit despite the high prices, but one thing irked me so much that I boycotted all Apple products.

That is, the arrogance, condescension, and suspicion of Apple sales people. I'm an engineer, so I dress casual but not like a snob, but whenever I'd go into an Apple store I'd encounter this arrogance, condescension, and suspicion.

Certain stores are known for their toxic, snobbish sales people, and Apple is one of them. They do the company a disservice. They assume customers are know-nothing idiots, and even if you prove you're not they continue to insist it.

In my recent trip to the Apple store, I was followed around the store by a black sales girl who never said a word to me. She kept putting herself next to me to watch my screen as I tried out the computers. Creepy!

She didn't say "can I help you" or "my name is -----, let me know if you need help". No, she clearly wanted to harass a white guy with her creative suspicions, constantly glancing at my screen while chatting with a coworker.

Even now I admit I'm a little irked when I think about these jerks. No one expects abuse from people who are supposed to be trying to sell. I never encountered this behavior from Best Buy's Apple reps, which just shows Apple stores are mismanaged.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 30
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,419member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Moloch View Post

For many years I felt Macs were nice and maybe had merit despite the high prices, but one thing irked me so much that I boycotted all Apple products.

That is, the arrogance, condescension, and suspicion of Apple sales people. I'm an engineer, so I dress casual but not like a snob, but whenever I'd go into an Apple store I'd encounter this arrogance, condescension, and suspicion.