Apple adds seven major features, 100 minor features in iPhone 4.0

Comments

• Reply 81 of 219
    dick applebaumdick applebaum Posts: 12,527member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Quadra 610 View Post

From a developer over at MR:

Originally Posted by JulienNantes

Guys, as a developer, I just took a look at the API diff and "what's new in iPhone OS 4" docs, and I saw some gems Steve didn't talk about !

For instance, Grand Central Dispatch is now integrated to iPhone OS 4 (!!!!!!!), and UIKit is now "thread safe"... those two tips make me think that the next iPhone will probably be MULTICORE!

Another interesting point in the doc, is the description of the new framework, accelerate :

"The Accelerate framework (Accelerate.framework) contains interfaces for performing math, big-number, and DSP calculations, among others. The advantage of using this framework over writing your own versions of these libraries is that it is optimized for the different hardware configurations present in iPhone OS?based devices. Therefore, you can write your code once and be assured that it runs efficiently on all devices."

I don't know you, but the word "DSP" is flashing red before my eyes!

Now that Apple master their own CPU production, I bet that the next A4 evolution that will ship with the new iPhone will be multicore and will get a DSP or the equivalent to the MMX addon the x86 have!

Mmmm... Apple has a history of developing ASIC DSPs. I wonder if the current iPad A4 has this capability.

Just think of a Motion or Logic app with a multitouch interface...

• Reply 82 of 219
    el3ktroel3ktro Posts: 52member
    You can now reset the focus while recording a video.
  • Reply 83 of 219
    alfiejralfiejr Posts: 1,524member