Oprah gushes over 'amazing' new Apple iPad

Comments

• Reply 41 of 92
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Rob55 View Post

According to the link in the article you quoted, Pontiac covered the taxes and customization.

I always find it is the best course of action not to speak on things about which I have little knowledge. The IRS considers gifts such as those provided by Oprah as taxable income in the amount the item costs. Say the car costs $20,000. Imagine two people each with $100,000 in income, both identical in every way. One goes out and buys the car for $20,000, the other receives it as a gift. Now the one who bought it has $80,000 and a $20,000 car. The other has $100,000 and a $20,000 car. The IRS's logic is such that Pontiac, in a roundabout way, gave $20,000 to the audience member, who then used the $20,000 to buy a car. Receiving that money was a taxable event, even though the middle step of receiving, then spending, the money was skipped.

When it says that Pontiac paid the taxes on the cars, the people were still subject to the same tax. If the tax were $1000, then Pontiac gave them $1000 on top of the car, and the audience member received $21,000 in taxable income. This would take the tax due up to $1050. Getting upset about paying $1000 tax on the $20,000 received is the same as getting upset about paying the $50 tax on the $1000 received, it's just a measure of scale. The idiots might say, "Thank you Pontiac! Now I only owe $50 tax on the car!" But in reality, they could have accepted Pontiac's $1000, sold the car on the open market for fair value and now had $21,000 cash, on which they would owe $1000 tax, leaving $21,000 cash; they then pay the $1050 tax and have $19,950 cash. Or they could pick the car and the money from Pontiac, which would mean they have a car, $1000, and a $1050 payment to the IRS, leaving a car and a $50 tax payment out-of-pocket.
  • Reply 42 of 92
    tofinotofino Posts: 697member
    Quote: