Need help deciding what to put on external HD (Raid 0) for recording

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi,

I've never used an external HD before and I just picked up a 1.5 TB Mercury Elite-AL Pro Dual Bay Raid 0 with FW 800 for use in my home recording studio. I just have some questions regarding what would be the best way to configure it as opposed having everything on my Macbook Pro.

I have an M-Audio Axiom 61 midi controller and all of my software synths and programs are currently on my Macbook Pro (2.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, 250GB HD). They include the following:

Spectrasonics Omnisphere (42 GB)

Spectrasonics RMX Expanded (38 GB)

Spectrasonics Trilian Bass (40 GB)

NI Kore Player with 2 extra libraries (12 GB)

NI Kontakt 4 with extra libraries (8 GB)

Ministry of Rock (44 GB)

Just over 60 GB of audio loop content

I also run Recycle and Ableton Live 8 for recording.

My questions are....Should I be putting everything on the external drive? Or just the sound and loop libraries and keep the programs themselves on the laptop? Or put everything on the external except the recording and editing software (Ableton Live 8 & Recycle)?

I appreciate any help you can give. Any composers/producers out there who have a similar setup and want to share what their setup is like if they use an external drive? Any and all feedback is welcome!!

Thank you so much. Have a wonderful weekend.

-Ryan

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    spotonspoton Posts: 645member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by G520incher View Post

Hi,

I've never used an external HD before and I just picked up a 1.5 TB Mercury Elite-AL Pro Dual Bay Raid 0 with FW 800 for use in my home recording studio. I just have some questions regarding what would be the best way to configure it as opposed having everything on my Macbook Pro.

I have an M-Audio Axiom 61 midi controller and all of my software synths and programs are currently on my Macbook Pro (2.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, 250GB HD). They include the following: