New to Apple and new to programming - Beginner looking for advice

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Gday,

I haven't really touched an Apple since the ][e days way back when. Recently I've been looking at the new MacBook Pro laptops and they have an appeal I can't seem to put my finger on. I'm hoping to head down to the Apple Store this weekend and see if I can order one to replace my dated HP laptop.

To that end, my interest in pursuing some kind of software development as a hobby is also peaking. For many years I've worked in the IT industry as a network engineer (hence the handle), however I've always had an interest in learning how to program and develop software.

As I am a complete newbie when it comes to programming languages, and knowing that my ultimate goal is to someday try and develop software for the iPhone/iTouch/iPad platforms, I am looking for advice on where to start.

I've flicked through some books at the bookstore which cover things like programming and iPhone development etc, however I also read that in order to get started, one should have a solid foundation in C as well as Objective-C. I also read a post on this forum which suggested a bunch of resources and books. After reading the post from user 'tripplesea', I got a little concerned that the suggested books might be over my head.

I'd be really grateful if anyone that was either in my position at some point (self-teaching to program) or a seasoned coder might be able to provide any pointers on where to start so that I don't get stuck in the mud and possibly lose interest.

Anyhow as a first time poster to the forum and a soon-to-be-reborn Apple user I'm pretty glad I found this forum. I'm sure it's going to help me find my "Apple" legs in no time.

Cheers,

Packeteer.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member