Apple's online, phone order systems struggle with iPhone 4 demand

Comments

• Reply 121 of 210
    aiaddictaiaddict Posts: 487member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Xian Zhu Xuande View Post

I'm going to go out on a limb here and guess that you're not a network engineer. Your suggestion (the one you did provide) presents a whole mess of problems. Processing things gradually, as resources are available, is awesome when you know you have all the necessary data to complete that order and do not need to interact with the customer in any way. There are plenty of other problems with this too.

Actually I was a network engineer, though I changed careers a few years back. This is a classic case of horrible process design. For anyone who is already an AT&T customer, all the data they needed was phone number and 16gb or 32gb preference. They could then reserve the device for you and move on to the next user. One simple web page, with a couple back end data calls to reserve a device and verify remaining availability. With only 2 part numbers this is an exceedingly simple inventory to manage. Given the volume of transactions they handle with iTunes on a daily basis, Apple should have been able to build a simple 2 entry web interface that could handle several million pre-orders per hour without a hickup. By keeping the process simple you avoid all of the overhead wasted on transactions that do not go through. I bet most of the CPU cycles, network bandwidth, database calls, etc. today were for orders that did not get placed. This is seriously stupid engineering.