Buying advice for an overly cautious switcher

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I know I am being a little stupid in asking, but being a bit of a novice here goes.

I am looking at making the switch as I am sick of Windows and whilst I would like a 27" iMac, I am looking at making baby steps first by getting a Mac Mini and then when funds allow, upgrading to an iMac in a few years time.

I would imagine the most intensive applications that I would ever run would be one of RipIt http://thelittleappfactory.com/ripit/ Pixelmator or perhaps Adobe Illustrator.

With that said, most of the time I would be using the most basic of functions simultaneously including Office, iTunes, Safari, Mail etc.

So, after all that, would a Mac Mini with the following specifications be sufficient for my requirements or would it still struggle a little from time to time?

Proposed specifications - 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM (might stretch to 8GB if funds allow), 500GB Serial ATA Drive.

thanks

thesundowner

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    The Mac Mini will be fine with those apps and get a cheap IPS display with it. Just get the wired USB keyboard and you can get any wireless mouse (Logitech recommended) with a USB dongle and plug it in - no pairing issues, lag or sleep times.

You can consider a 13" MBP too but the Mini is the lowest cost option. Also, don't think of it like making a switch, think of it like buying a good PC that doesn't ship with Windows and the decision is easier. If you decide to stick with Windows, the Mac hardware will still be one of the best PCs you've used.
  • Reply 2 of 20
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member
    You seem like a pretty average user and you didn't mention if you have a monitor already. I would get the entry level iMac. Its a better value with them having just been upgraded to i3 processors
  • Reply 3 of 20