Time to upgrade from Power Macintosh G5 2.5 DP?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Howdy everyone, I used to frequent these forums but it's been a long time and it appears I'm starting from scratch

I've had a Power Macintosh G5 2.5 DP since they were released ~6 years ago... been a good machine, but lately I've been doing some basic video work in iMovie that has been frustratingly slow. Not to mention so much of the new software and games are only available for Intel-equipped Macs.

I'm curious how much of an improvement I'd see in iMovie if I replaced this tower with the new 6 core Mac Pro. As an example, it took this machine about 20 minutes to export a 5 minute video from 1280x720 to Youtube quality 640x480. I'd like to think that a new Pro Mac would handle this very very quickly, but I know that sometimes more cores doesn't really mean that much.

As I'm fairly new to messing about with video, are there any BTO upgrades that help significantly? Maybe a couple SSDs in a RAID? Is it enough to have the drives striped or do you really need the hardware RAID card to get the most out of them? Would one of the other processor configurations make more sense? Worth it to go whole hog for the 12 core machine?

I tend to keep my towers for 5-6 years before upgrading again since I usually go for the top of the line stuff, does it make sense to do this nowdays? Thanks for any input

edit: oops, just noticed that general is for purchasing advice. I'm more interested in performance data than opinions, but move if necessary

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by enderty View Post