Movies won't synch onto iPhone4...Arrrggghhh!

Posted:
in iPhone edited January 2014
Hi,

Newbie here. I have been trying to synch my movies onto my iPhone 4. I've tried various ways to no avail. They are in the correct format i.e. mpeg 576x256. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Barry

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    How are you encoding them? If you use a 3rd party .mp4 encoder, sometimes it doesn't like the headers in which case you have to put it through Quicktime 7 using a passthrough encode.
  • Reply 2 of 22
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Marvin View Post

How are you encoding them? If you use a 3rd party .mp4 encoder, sometimes it doesn't like the headers in which case you have to put it through Quicktime 7 using a passthrough encode.

Hi Marvin,

I've been downloading them from Vuze and then converting them from there into itunes. It was never a problem on my iPhone 3GS though.
  • Reply 3 of 22
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by MacBus View Post

Hi Marvin,

I've been downloading them from Vuze and then converting them from there into itunes. It was never a problem on my iPhone 3GS though.

Did you update iTunes since moving to the iPhone 4 or is the OS version changed? This happened to me once after an iTunes update. If you can get hold of Quicktime 7 Pro, like I say using export to mp4 with passthrough might make it work. You can also try using iSquint to convert the movies:

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/19769/isquint
  • Reply 4 of 22
    I marvin, sorry late reply. Just got a hold of iSquint so going to give it a go now. Will report back later. Thanks again for your help and input.

Barry
  • Reply 5 of 22
    iSquint is unfortunately no more supported under Snow Leopard.

All our hopes are now in hands of Streamclip team.
  • Reply 6 of 22
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ivan.rnn01 View Post

iSquint is unfortunately no more supported under Snow Leopard.