Steve Jobs: Apple will use $51B for big moves, not 'stupid' ones

Comments

• Reply 81 of 193
    hirohiro Posts: 2,663member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Prof. Peabody View Post

While not originally anything to do with racism, the word "tarbaby" has a lot of bad racial overtones in large parts of the USA. Just sayin.

The world can do with less faux indignation. The tarbaby has nothing to do with racism except be conveniently used politically against some candidates by opportunistic political enemies.

Simply it's a story of stupidity and counter-stupidity illustrating the need to think before you act in a way that's detrimental to your ends.
  • Reply 82 of 193
    gugygugy Posts: 794member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DarenDino View Post

Buy ADOBE !!!!

I am with you.

As a creative professional, I would love to see Apple taking over and finish this whole drama between the two companies. The last thing I want is Adobe dropping the Mac platform because this bickering.
  • Reply 83 of 193
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Joe hs View Post

Buy Microsoft.

This. Then stop licensing Windows. Mwa-ha-ha-ha-ha!

OK, just kiddin'. Buy Verizon.
  • Reply 84 of 193
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mjtomlin View Post

Why does everyone think they need to buy a huge company to spend some of that money?

Why not start building? They just spent $1B on that data center in North Carolina. I could see Apple spending a few billion on a chip foundry and manufacturing their own silicon like the A4.

I just can't see this. Apple realistically know nothing about chip manufacturing, and it would cost them a fortune to develop the skills. Building a fab for an established company is a $4bn investment, and having to poach staff to get them started would cost even more than that.