iPad or 11" Macbook Air?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm sure I'm not the only one in this conundrum. I realise that the Air is capable of far more than the iPad, but if your uses for it are limited but typing intensive which would you go for? I am a writer currently working on a (aluminium unibody) Macbook. For a while now I've been considering getting an iPad with a separate Apple keyboard to work on in libraries and the like. This has the advantage of being able to separate the screen and keyboard and help avoid RSI and neck strain. (Last year I had to get a separate keyboard and laptop stand for this very reason). However, the iPad would mean having to opt for iPad's Pages over Word and working on iOS rather than Mac OS X (maybe not a problem). Or I could go with the new Macbook Air. I wouldn't have the advantage of separate screen and input but it would all be one system, more powerful and still lighter than my 13" Macbook. Might need a stand for intensive writing sessions though?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    To me this is a no-brainer--the Macbook Air of course. You are a writer. That about sums it up.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    I have the same issue, perhaps even worse. I am an aspiring writer as well as an aspiring photographer -- I currently have a macbook pro 13 that I love, but it's STILL too heavy to carry around every day (I'm such a wuss!) and ironically, I now worry about traveling with the computer that has ALL my information on it! Damn, we consumers are never satisfied