Review: Microsoft's Office 2011 for Mac

Comments

• Reply 81 of 107
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SMC View Post

I use Entourage 2008 for Exchange in a corporate environment, and one of my biggest complaints is that it won't support a simple table in an email. Even forwarding an email with a table completely mangles the layout of the forwarded message.

That's the question I've been asking here and elsewhere since 2011 was first announced. Unfortunately, none of the beta testers have responded to that query... It's not just replying to an email with tables that drives me crazy, it's the inability to copy an Excel table into an email - instead I have to either export to PDF, or paste a screen capture.
  • Reply 82 of 107
    I use Word (2007 and sometimes 2010) every day for making complex test reports that are classes of legal documents, and use LOADS of the features, tables, diagrams/drawing tools/formatting options/outlining/document maps/TOCs/etc/etc. (VBA too). I also currently use Office:Mac 2008 at home since I have a mac, and am also studying part time.

Why so much hate for the Ribbon? I was unsure about the ribbon when we went from office 2003 to 2007, but 2003 (and previous) had lots of different toolbars, half of which would appear when you didn't want them, then if you made them go away, then chose something related they wouldn't come back and you'd have to go and find them. If you turned them all on and put them in the top you'd use half you screen real-estate up! The only benefit was that you could make custom menus which 2007 didn't offer. However, with 2007 onwards you can right click anything, anywhere in the ribbon and put it in the quick access toolbars. Don't like the ribbon "getting in the way" like lots of the complainers here? Double click the name of that tab and it auto hides! Then when you want something click the tab you want, it appears, click the item you want, it's gone again. Job done. What's wrong with that!?!