Carbon fiber could be Apple's key to a lighter next-gen iPad

Comments

• Reply 41 of 127
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by huntson View Post

Can someone explain to me exactly how carbon fiber breaks. I understand the concept that if you put stress on an object made out of the material in the same direction as the seams then it will break. What I don't get is how my tripods (I am a t producer) made out of carbon fiber have never broken

It isn't the carbon fiber that you worry about, but the substrate. Either it's embedded in epoxy, or polyester most of the time. Neither has much strength by itself, and is very subject to impact breakage. Also there are various grades of carbon fiber sheet used to make products. The price of the same thickness sheets varies by a ten to one ratio, so the quality differences are great. I've got two pro carbon fiber tripods, and they're great. But they aren't as sturdy as my aluminum ones. They flex a lot more. If I were to smack the carbon fiber leg with something hard, it would show a bad impact result, with the center, where it was hit being cratered off, and cracks expanding from that point. The layers might separate around the area. The aluminum leg would just dent a small bit.
  • Reply 42 of 127
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Isidore View Post

Boats, road cars, all formula 1 racing cars (which have tremendous impact strength) many different aircraft, both military and non military, and even other computer devices- Sony come to mind. the only thing they can be patenting is some specific manufacturing or design technique, not the use of the material. I would love them to use cfrp for this and the Macbook Air. It's light, won't dent like aluminium and won't dent or scratch other things. And when the device finally dies, it will make a lovely high tech tea tray.