To use or not to use Parallels

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi,

First post so I apologise if this is in the wrong place.

I'm about to buy a new iMac. I am fed up with Windows but still need to install it to use Autocad and 3Ds Max. I originally thought about installing Parallels and use that for my Windows programs but while speaking to an Apple advisor he told me I'd be better installing Windows through Bootcamp.

I explained to him that I would be buying a 27" iMac with the 3.6GHz core i5 and upgrading the RAM to 8Gb (from Crucial). He insisted that the setup with Parallels might slow 3Ds Max down.

The thing that bugs me about Bootcamp is that OSX doesn't load up straight away after power up. I usually push the power button on my computer then leave it for a few minutes to load up. From what I've seen with Bootcamp it won't load past the OS selection page until I select either Windows or OSX.

I am in my final year at university studying Architectural Technology so really need a fast computer to complete my honours project. I produce a lot of 3D renderings and 3D walkthrough videos of buildings.

Will using Parallels with the above spec slow the system down a lot or will it not be as noticeable?

Thanks

Martin

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    smaxsmax Posts: 361member
    Personally I take the "best of both worlds" approach. Install Windows under Boot Camp, try it out. If you find it too annoying, install Parallels to work off of your Boot Camp partition.

That way you can try the free solution for a while to see if you can live with it, then if you decide you don't like it you can install Parallels to virtualize the Windows installation while retaining the ability to boot into Windows natively for full 3D performance. You also have the added bonus of having Windows on its own partition so that you don't lose everything if your OSX install takes a dive.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,310moderator
    Quote: