Acclaimed architect Norman Foster to build Apple's new campus

Comments

• Reply 41 of 88
    Good luck to them. I went to a presentation at the main campus a couple of months ago, and that seemed reasonably nice, but driving around Cupertino and seeing some of the buildings they are using, they really don't seem befitting of such a successful company.
  • Reply 42 of 88
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by desarc View Post

i usually can't stand the people who nit-pick the grammar of stories here, but as an architect i know for certain that Foster + Partners are not BUILDING the campus - they're designing it, so this headline is wrong.

may seem like a little thing, but it's as big as "Designed by Apple in California. Assembled in China"

Will the new campus be "Made in China", "Assembled in Cupertino"?
  • Reply 43 of 88
    I think they will probably have an underground monorail that connects the two campuses.
  • Reply 44 of 88
    quinneyquinney Posts: 2,528member
    If Apple can work in a carbon-neutral manner, I will not complain if other companies copy them.
  • Reply 45 of 88
    addaboxaddabox Posts: 12,665member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by screamingfist View Post

most of fosters work is 'bucky fuller builds a green house'

Huh. So not very knowledgable about architecture or "Bucky Fuller", I guess.

However, were Buckminster Fuller to build a greenhouse, one thing that we might be sure of is that it would be environmentally sustainable.

Since your very next comment complains about lack of environmental ssensitivity, it would appear you're just sort of throwing out random snark because, I dunno, that's all you know how to do?
  • Reply 46 of 88
    desarcdesarc Posts: 642member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Johnny Mozzarella View Post

Will the new campus be "Made in China", "Assembled in Cupertino"?

"Designed by Foster + Partners, Built by Swinerton Incorporated"

or Bechtel Group, or DPR Construction, or similar.
  • Reply 47 of 88