New MBP Battery at 95% while fully charged ?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I have a new 13" MBP (1 week old), and the battery is supposed to be fully charged, according to the battery menu and some hardware monitor app. Well, the same menu says the battery is 95% charged, while the MBP is hooked to the home's sector. What the heck is that ? Last week, the information was consistent (100% recharged).

What is happening here ? Is the battery defective or is this normal ? I'm new to the laptop world, so I need to understand what is happening with the battery.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kali View Post

I have a new 13" MBP (1 week old), and the battery is supposed to be fully charged, according to the battery menu and some hardware monitor app. Well, the same menu says the battery is 95% charged, while the MBP is hooked to the home's sector. What the heck is that ? Last week, the information was consistent (100% recharged).

What is happening here ? Is the battery defective or is this normal ? I'm new to the laptop world, so I need to understand what is happening with the battery.

Hi, sometimes this happens when you use the laptop on battery from say 100% to 98% or so. Then you plug in the charger. The battery stays at 98% and not charging. It doesn't force it to 100% all the time.

If you are concerned, do this. Unplug the charger, drain the battery from 95% all the way to 5%, then start charging it, it should go all the way to 100%. If it doesn't, try this "battery cycle" again. If after twice or three times trying this "battery cycle" thing doesn't work, then you may have an issue with the battery. But I think your battery should be alright.

Here's a tip: Use this website, set number of balls to maximum and watch your CPU work close to 100% to drain the battery quickly http://bubblemark.com/flex.htm
  • Reply 2 of 12
    kalikali Posts: 634member