Apple exposing Mac OS X Lion to security experts for review

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Lukeskymac View Post

Let's remember they all got hacked by the same person every year, who targets only the Macs, has his hack planned in detail which only works after lowering security twice

Yeah, like after giving him root access!

Quote:
    Originally Posted by acslater017 View Post

In my 7 years of using Macs, I've never had a security issue (that I'm aware of).

Same here. Except i've been using Macs since 1984.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by AppleInsider View Post

Dai Zovi also mused, "Will Lion be the 'Vista' of Mac OS X? In the sense that they start taking security seriously, not the sense that nobody wants to use it."

Oh pleeeeeeze! Using Windoze analogies for Macs is bass-ackward, upside down, and depraved. It's like comparing a 1930’s VW Beetle to a 2011 Ferrari.
  • Reply 22 of 27
    quillzquillz Posts: 209member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by _Hawkeye_ View Post

Yeah, like after giving him root access!

Same here. Except i've been using Macs since 1984.

Oh pleeeeeeze! Using Windoze analogies for Macs is bass-ackward, upside down, and depraved. It's like comparing a 1930?s VW Beetle to a 2011 Ferrari.

Why, is using "Windoze analogies" going to burst your little iBubble? It's not the analogy I would have used but I understand what they meant by it.
  • Reply 23 of 27
    gctwnlgctwnl Posts: 278member
    Quote:

The report cited Miller, who has demonstrated cracks in Apple's software, as saying, "It's not hiring us to do pen-tests of it, but at least it's not total isolation anymore, and at least security crosses their mind now."

Dai Zovi also mused, "Will Lion be the 'Vista' of Mac OS X? In the sense that they start taking security seriously, not the sense that nobody wants to use it."