Motorola's Android 3.0 Honeycomb Xoom sales forecast slashed to 100,000 units

Comments

• Reply 141 of 172
    mennomenno Posts: 854member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ash471 View Post

If they sold 100 units, would you still say it is IMPOSSILBE for us to call it a failure? What about 5 units? or 1 unit? You are fundamentally wrong to say that units sold cannot serve as an indicator of success or failure. There are many that work in this industry that have a very good feel for what Motorola would have hoped/expected/and planned for in this product launch. I'm no expert, but I can still narrow it down to something. I would bet you any amount of money that Motorola planned for something between 10 thousand units and 10 billion units. An expert could obvious narrow it down a lot closer. I don't think experts in this field need to audit the books to know whether 100,000 units is a failure. Samsung shipped 2M units of the Tab before it even knew what demand would be like. It seems reasonable to me that a 100K launch is a disaster. I suppose if Motorola gave us the actual numbers you would argue "wait a minute, we don't know if it was a failure because what if Motorola added the numbers wrong."

Motorola didn't give us numbers. No one did. What we have is an estimation based off of a graph. If you can't see the difference between that and someone (anyone) actually publishing numbers, it's not worth responding to you.

And this analyst isn't an expert. See their initial predictions. Actually, see any tech analyst predictions for the past 5 years. They've either been way too conservative, or so optimistic as to be laughable.

The Samsung Tab was also available on EVERY major US carrier, on SEVERAL international carriers, and available internationally unlocked. It also supported voice. IT's a completely different type of launch.