Mac Pro Applecare replacement help 2008 v 2011

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi,

I've been given today by Applecare a replacement mac pro for my previous mac pro they couldn't fix. Thing is I not convinced it's a like for like replacement.

Original mac is a octo 3.2 Harpertown, replacement is a 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ?Nehalem?

I did try and point out in store but they kept saying it will "fly" compared to my old mac, which did everything perfectly.

All the comparison graphs point to the 3.2 but is that a valid argument if I go back to Apple?

I've got a 14 day cooling off period to make up my mind.

Hopefully someone can tell me if I'm right or wrong.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 43,388member
    Unless you're using applications that have any sort of benefit whatsoever from using eight cores, the new machine is faster.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    edtogedtog Posts: 4member
    I'm a photographer and mainly use Capture One, which hammers the CPU's and Photoshop.

Main reason I originally went for the 3.2 was it CPU power for Capture One.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Edtog View Post

I'm a photographer and mainly use Capture One, which hammers the CPU's and Photoshop.

Main reason I originally went for the 3.2 was it CPU power for Capture One.

Oh, please Your old machine was a 3.2 GHz Mac Pro (Early 2008). Its GeekBench benchmark score was 8565. Your new computer is a 2.8 GHz Mac Pro (Mid 2010). Its GeekBench benchmark score is 8839. My experience with AppleCare is that it will replace a defective computer with one of equal or better value. It could not replace your three-year-old computer with the same model. It chose to provide you with a slightly better computer. Your replacement computer has a higher GeekBench score than your old computer. You may find AppleCare's choice to be unsatisfactory. That is your choice.
  • Reply 4 of 7