Bootable OSX Lion DVD Image included? True or False?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I've heard on the grape vine that OS X Lion, when downloaded from the AppStore, will have a bootable DMG image included in the .app package (right click > show package contents). Apparently, this disk image (Install.dmg or similar) when burned to a DVD gives you the full install procedure as with previous versions of OSX, with access to disk utility and install options for a clean install.

I am not sure if this information is true or not, I'm not a registered developer and do not have access to the RC install packages, but if anyone here is a developer and can confirm this, then OS X Lion just became that little bit better.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 43,388member
    You act like you can't do a clean install directly from the installer package that you download. You can.

Lion also makes a partition on your drive that contains itself and other tools in case you ever have to fix something. No disc is ever needed unless you buy a new drive.
  • Reply 2 of 22
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post

You act like you can't do a clean install directly from the installer package that you download. You can.

Lion also makes a partition on your drive that contains itself and other tools in case you ever have to fix something. No disc is ever needed unless you buy a new drive.

This is the first time I have heard this, either I missed a post about it on Ai or its only something the developers knew about. (Probably the former knowing me).

Drive failure is something you have to consider, as well as whacking the disk into another Mac without having to re-download on the other system. It may just be me being old fashioned, but I've always proffered having my OS on some form of physical, bootable media. Many people on Ai after the announcement wanted the same thing.

Also, you never answered my question
  • Reply 3 of 22
    Quote: