Apple releases Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5 and Compressor 4 on Mac App Store

15678911»

Comments

• Reply 201 of 205
    bergermeisterbergermeister Posts: 6,784member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Marvin View Post

You are transferring over 30GB of data from DVD though. If you install just the apps without the content packs, it goes a good bit faster. You can actually archive the content packs to a hard drive and just copy them on as needed and cut out all the versions you don't use e.g. PAL vs NTSC templates.

I must add that the content did download a little later and it also took a little while, so my times are off, but it was still easy.

I'm also not a pro video editor (we create video in an animation suite and then use DVD Studio Pro to output) so I can't voice much one way or another about FCPX being good enough. I bought it personally and played around with it last night. It was pretty easy to get a hang of and I put together a ten minute project pretty quickly. Have had FCP for years but never used it as I never had the need, just for DVDSP and occasionally Soundtrack Pro. I actually will be attending a FCS study session today with an instructor from Apple Japan; am expecting lots of people to be asking about FCPX.
  • Reply 202 of 205
    tenobelltenobell Posts: 7,014member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Marvin View Post

Not good enough. This is software that businesses rely on. In one day, they discontinued that software and reverted to a package that is not powerful enough to handle high-end workflows. They have done this before but not to such a drastic extent. While you can still use Final Cut Pro, a studio can't buy new seats/licenses so what are they supposed to do?

For right now keep using FCP. If they feel that Apple is not supporting their future needs in a satisfactory way they are free to use someone else.

Quote: