OS X Batch File Equivalent?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hi, I'm new to OS X and could use a little help.

I use a program for work called XWand from Fujitsu, it's a Java application that normally is executed from a batch file in windows. I've managed to get the aplacation to run by editing the batch file contents a little bit and pasting it into the Terminal. Now, what I'd like to do is create either a batch file equivalent, or a shortcut that will run the the below commend in the Terminal from the folder "/Applications/Fujitsu XWand Files".

Code:

java -mx800m -ms256m -DXWAND_LICENSE=. -classpath lib/instancecreator2.jar:lib/tool-common.jar:lib/taxeditor2.jar:lib/xwexplorer.jar:lib/xwandlink.jar:lib/xmlpro.jar:lib/xmlschemac.jar:lib/xmltransx.jar:lib/xwand.jar:lib/xwandschema.jar:lib/xbrldiff2se.jar:lib/xmlpath2.jar:lib/xmlpath2fn.jar:lib/xwand_xpath2.jar -Dcom.fujitsu.xml.xbrl.report.taxonomy.supportCSV=y es -Dconfig.dir="conf" com.fujitsu.xml.xbrl.xwexplorer.XWandExplorerPlatf orm

Thanks,

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    You can use a shell script. Open Text Edit and make sure you use plain text and not rtf by using format > make plain text.

Then type:

Code:

#!/bin/bash

cd "/Applications/Fujitsu XWand Files"

java -mx ....

Just enter the whole java command at the end. Then save it as something like xwand_builder.sh and then in terminal, type:

chmod 777 <drag xwand_builder.sh into terminal window>

Hit return and that will give it execute permissions. Then make sure that the .sh file type is set to run in the terminal using the Get Info box and it should run by double-clicking it.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    Thanks, worked like a charm.
  • Reply 3 of 16
    Hi

I have s situation that is similar to AustinMatherne. My batch file contains the following:

@echo off

setlocal ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

rem start application