Apple unveils iPhone 4S with A5 CPU and 4G-like data speeds

Comments

• Reply 301 of 641
    chabigchabig Posts: 641member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by noexpectations View Post

Does anyone know if Siri will work on an iPhone 4?

It'll work until October 15th. Then it apparently shuts off. (Launch Siri. It'll tell you this).
  • Reply 302 of 641
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by TenoBell View Post

He may not know what to call it. But the difference absolutely is there.

I'm not denying that the A5 is faster. I'm an electrical engineer so I can definitely appreciate the technical differences. However, the business part of me still has to ask about the change in experience for the typical user. In terms of the tasks that most people will do on their phone, will they really notice a difference?

Sure, games (for instance) may run better, but is that enough? Honestly, I use my iPhone for running Safari, Email, Music, Phone, and maybe a few simple games. At a certain point, the additional power does not become useful.
  • Reply 303 of 641
    resnycresnyc Posts: 90member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by lionelhuts View Post

Well, I think a lot of people imagined it. How long did it take for your apps to load on your 3G? People knew it need a speed boost.

Now how long does it take apps to load on your iPhone 4? I know apps on mine load very quickly. So even if the 4s is instantaneous loading, is the user experience really that much improved?

The best example we have of this is the iPad to iPad 2. After all, that is an A4 to A5 comparison. My dad had an iPad 1 and then bought an iPad 2. I asked him if he noticed any differences between them. He said he loved how the 2 was a lot thinner. When I asked about speed, he said, "Speed?". (And the iPad 2 had more RAM as well.)