Samsung Galaxy Nexus screen held back by subpar subpixels

Comments

• Reply 161 of 199
    nvidia2008nvidia2008 Posts: 9,262member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ConradJoe View Post

I'm no expert in what to look for in magnified screens, but it looks to me like the "Galaxy Note" is the best, with the iPhone coming in second.

Which technology is in the upper left-hand corner? It looks better than both the Galaxy S2 and the iPhone. Which phone is the Galaxy Note?

Indeed, except if it was the same picture used in the comparison why is it all green instead of white for the Galaxy Note?

Also, it's not really green, unless there's some ultra-high-res texture it's trying to display from the original image... you can see a kind of "crochet" patterning to the "green".

Don't get me wrong, I like the bigger (Super, Duper, Whatever) AMOLED screens for sheer impact from what little I've played around with it. But in the long run and for value of the device, I'll stick to iPhone for now. How good or bad the AMOLED is in the long run, I may never know.
  • Reply 162 of 199
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by apacheman View Post

Is it true that Apple's A5 chipset and their "Retina" displays were made and are manufactured by Samsung and LG ?

Two of the best features of my iPhone 4S are made by Samsung, LG? OMG....!!

"Apple relies on Samsung for chips despite patent wars" : UK Times

http://uk.ibtimes.com/articles/23308...-iphone-4s.htm

http://www.eetimes.com/electronics-n...e-A5-processor

http://www.gottabemobile.com/2011/07...by-lg-samsung/

Yea, Samsung is behind of at least 25% of iPhone parts. Samsung may also manufacture an unknown share of other 50% of iPhone parts which probably include processor and some LCDs and touchscreens and the bigger share of LCD shipments apparently come from LG.

So while iPhone software comes from Apple, the electronics are largely Korean.

http://www.ubergizmo.com/2011/08/sam...phone-4-parts/