Apple Lossless Audio Codec Project becomes open source

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 52
    rob55rob55 Posts: 1,291member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ConradJoe View Post

Additionally, somebody who has no idea what good audio is like may well have trouble discerning it when they hear it.

I used to be a salesman and then project engineer for a high-end A/V outfit. There were so many people who claimed that they couldn't hear a difference. Then we'd do an A/B comparison for them (trying to be as fair as possible with volume levels, etc.) and many would acknowledge that there was a difference. Not sure if this was the power of suggestion or some reality distortion field, but it sure helped sell some higher-end gear.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by ConradJoe View Post

Indeed, IMO, few people care much about quality. Other factors, such as convenience, are more important to them.

So true. That's why Bose sells so many speakers. They cater to the masses who want "good enough".
  • Reply 42 of 52
    conradjoeconradjoe Posts: 1,887member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Rob55 View Post

So true. That's why Bose sells so many speakers. They cater to the masses who want "good enough".

Apple and Bose are alike in many respects.
  • Reply 43 of 52
    apple ][apple ][ Posts: 9,233member
    Apple needs to start offering iTunes downloads in Alac. I'm not going to spend my money on an Mp3 or AAC file. I want the best quality that you can get. And yes, I can hear the difference. Anybody who can't doesn't have very good ears.
  • Reply 44 of 52
    cnocbuicnocbui Posts: 3,613member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Apple ][ View Post

Apple needs to start offering iTunes downloads in Alac. I'm not going to spend my money on an Mp3 or AAC file. I want the best quality that you can get. And yes, I can hear the difference. Anybody who can't doesn't have very good ears.

Here is the file: http://hotfile.com/dl/106252620/faa0...23aac.rar.html