Whoa, why does apple permit html5?

Posted:
in iPhone edited January 2014
Wouldn't that cut into their profits? I'm assuming Flash isn't allowed for that reason, but more html5 means less apps on the app store....right? I just started learning about the new web standard. Especially finding out the new Pandora runs on HTML5....so theory...we don't need the App store anymore-at least not for a lot of apps that use the internet (Pandora, Youtube, Netflix etc.).

I might forgoe learning C and get to it on HTML!

Anyone else know why apple permits HTML 5?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,423member
    Native API are always superior to web technologies.

You've been reading link bait. While web apps may be good for basic games they won't provide the rich support you get through cocoa frameworks.

Think of web apps as being your basic Facebook like games.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hmurchison View Post

Native API are always superior to web technologies.

You've been reading link bait. While web apps may be good for basic games they won't provide the rich support you get through cocoa frameworks.

Think of web apps as being your basic Facebook like games.

Oh....I've been misinformed. But I read GPU acceleration. I have seen a demo of Unreal Engine 3 running in a browers....is it possble at all?
  • Reply 3 of 4
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,423member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by linkgx1 View Post

Oh....I've been misinformed. But I read GPU acceleration. I have seen a demo of Unreal Engine 3 running in a browers....is it possble at all?

Well you haven't been misinformed but I too have seen the Unreal demos in a browser but that doesn't really tell the whole story.

I can run a lot of pretty nice content in my browser but often that leads to pretty heavy RAM usage and processor usage.