Pete Townshend of The Who calls Apple's iTunes a "digital vampire"

12346»

Comments

• Reply 101 of 107
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dorotea9999 View Post

Taking something that doesn't belong to you qualifies as stealing in my book.

But agree about Pete Townsend... He is an idiot.

Its copying something, not taking anything. Still against the law, without a doubt.
  • Reply 102 of 107
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by stynkfysh View Post

Its copying something, not taking anything. Still against the law, without a doubt.

Yes, yes. Anyway. While Pete's not entirely on the ball here, I doubt many of the slaggers have read the full transcript and in any case why so scathing and full of bile toward the man? As a working musician myself it's been an astonishing experience to not only have sales diminish massively due to piracy but to also be pilloried for daring to whisper a protest. Suddenly anyone with a record deal or an indi set up is some kind of rich whining arsehole according to the great washed masses and their squeaky clean consciences, and of course there's no hard work involved in any of it, we just automate a plug and you get your compressed mp3. Face it, the nerve is on fire because it gets hit every time one of the actual makers of what you steal makes a peep. If you want Katy perry and lady blah then that's what you'll get and the quality will just keep dropping. The real ones out there can't survive and frankly can't give a f@@k about the likes of you. One more disappointing result in from the social contract experiment.
  • Reply 103 of 107
    swiftswift Posts: 436member