IDC: Kindle Fire to push iPad below 60% market share in Q4

Comments

• Reply 41 of 103
    Analysts always predict that android is going to lead in the future which is probably is a logical view because tbey are only going to release like 300 different types of tablet and so eventually people are going to buy them just like they did with smartphone. Apple only has one tablet that it upgrades every year and they sell like hotcakes, that is something to boast about. But Android saturates the market with some crappy tablets and some good tablets with so many tablets consumer feel that its time to jump the boat and purchase one . The difference with Apple is that they win the customer they don't drown them in products. Hey I'm an Analyst hehehe.....*sarcasim*
  • Reply 42 of 103
    conradjoeconradjoe Posts: 1,887member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by xSamplex View Post

With personal computers, Apple decided on exclusivity and price over market share, and Windows won the war. Hopefully (at least for them) they will not let the same thing happen with tablets. Should Amazon come out with a 10" fire for $350, does Apple respond? Or do they stubbornly stick with the high price for high quality model and watch the majority of buyers go for value?

Samsung has announced an 11.6 inch Galaxy Tab. I think that it will be a better size for couch potatoes than Apple's smaller screen. I predict that the pricing will be competitive with Apple's tablet.

And the 7 inch devices, especially the inexpensive ones, are better for commuting or the beach or trips to the playground with the kids.

Apple's tablet will continue to be popular, but it is no longer the only good choice. Indeed, even now there are better choices, like the Transformer Prime, and in the future, if Apple is as obstinate about excluding features and options for consumers as they have been in the past, they will dominate their niche, but abandon most buyers.
  • Reply 43 of 103
    Quote: