Have MacBook Air 1.3ghz getting new Air 1.7ghz. Upgrade Cloning

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
New to the Mac world but I am a not a newbie to PC technology.

I have a MacBook Air

1.4ghz

Intel Duo Core processor

2GB ram

64GB SSD

11" screem

Out grown it was my learning device to get use to the Apple world. I have coming a:

MacBook Air

1.7ghz

i7 processor

4GB ram

256GB SSD

13" screen

In the PC world, I would clone the first PC and then drop that image on the second and all the new hardware would be detected in Win7 if anything needed to be loaded then I would install needed drivers...if any

I have programs on the current MacBook installed from people that I cannot get again like Fusion4, MS Office 2011, Lion OS, etc. It originally came with Leopard and none of those applications.

Is this a wise thing to do in the Apple world since I am stepping up one MacBook Air to a more powerful MacBook Air?

Pls advise...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    Quote:

In the PC world, I would clone the first PC and then drop that image on the second and all the new hardware would be detected in Win7 if anything needed to be loaded then I would install needed drivers...if any

Don't do that.

Quote:

I have programs on the current MacBook installed from people that I cannot get again like Fusion4, MS Office 2011, Lion OS, etc. It originally came with Leopard and none of those applications.

You want to use Migration Assistant to move your files over. Follow its instructions when you set up your new laptop.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post

Don't do that.

You want to use Migration Assistant to move your files over. Follow its instructions when you set up your new laptop.