Apple lodges new suit against Samsung over autocorrect, screen unlock

Comments

• Reply 21 of 57
    God I'm sick of the lawsuits. We're all having to pay for it in the price of the products we buy.

The patent system desperately needs to be overhauled.
  • Reply 22 of 57
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post

Unless, of course, "start in the middle of a circle and move to the outside of said circle by swiping with your finger" can be called something different.

I'm pretty sure Apple has a lock on that one, but I'm not a lawyer.

I said something similar a few months ago and several people challenged me on it so I went back and read the entire patent wording very carefully and (IMO of course), I don't see how Samsung (or any Android vendor) can get around it.

I'm fine with that anyway since it's pretty clear that (whatever the courts decide), Apple *did* in fact come up with the idea first.

No one has yet come forward with anything that really similar as prior art or in fact claimed that they invented it first. Those arguing against it are merely arguing that they should be allowed to copy it because it's "obvious," which is the defence of pretty much every IP thief.

I hope they win anyway. I've had a few of my ideas stolen myself and I'm always on the side of the inventor/artist over those who are just users.
  • Reply 23 of 57
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hmm View Post

Pick a different gesture then and problem solved assuming that the patenting of gestures is determined patentable (obviously I'm not an expert on the details of patent law). This just looks like patent trolling anyway. Apple wants to limit the competition, so they look for anything that could be interpreted as infringement on one of many vague patents. They're just tying up the court systems.

I think you are uninformed on the facts.

The patent in question is hardly vague. If they lose the case at all it will be because the patent is in fact overly specific.