Apple unveils Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion coming this summer with 100+ new features

18910111214»

Comments

• Reply 261 of 273
    asciiascii Posts: 5,936member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by matt_s View Post

Mountain Lion is not a Mac OS X OS upgrade, it's nothing more than an "iPad apps for Lion" app pack.

I can see how you would get that impression looking at Apple's highlight reel, but they have also said it's 100+ new features, and I think you'll find the other 90 are the "usual" OS upgrade stuff.
  • Reply 262 of 273
    ecsecs Posts: 307member
    Quote:

Mountain Lion is not a Mac OS X OS upgrade, it's nothing more than an "iPad apps for Lion" app pack.

Do you mean "sw_vers" returns 10.7.3 on ML?
  • Reply 263 of 273
    Quote:

Or are we just a big shiny $2500 cell phone now?

^This
  • Reply 264 of 273
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by pondosinatra View Post

^This

^is abject nonsense.
  • Reply 265 of 273
    I still regret my update to Lion. I'm a professional user and have been for over a decade. I'm not just browsing the web and playing with iLife or MS word. It is time for an upgrade from my 2009 quad core 2.66 mac pro with 16GB of Ram and 4TB of storage. I guess all I'd need is the newer hardware, not more ram or storage. I have played with Lion on brand new machines and am not impressed though. It feels like a buggy step backward with a lot of things that still need fixing. Now they are going to release another OS upgrade when Lion still feels broken?
  • Reply 266 of 273
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Alexmit View Post