to Mac Pro or not to Mac Pro

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hello folks,

I've been a really loyal Mac user for the last 20 years of my life. I'm an audio/visual artist. I do a ton of work using Logic Pro, AfterEffects, FCP and Photoshop. About 4 years ago I signed with a foreign record label and had to learn how to perform to go on tour. Because of that I just had two laptops that I used for my work and never bought a new Mac Pro (my previous computer was a dual 2gig G5.

I've settled down for a couple of years, and as much as I do respect the MacBook Pro for it's laptop abilities, both my 2009 and 2008 laptops are a bit long in the tooth and I have never been happy with the fact that they only have a single firewire in (and a relatively weak one at that - external drives always seem to be ejecting themselves when there's more than 3 daisy-chained at once.)

I'm thinking it's time to purchase a new tower.

Looking at the prices I felt like I got punched in the gut. Mac Pros are soooooo expensive. I just read a thread about somebody being recommended to purchase a top of the line 27" iMac. But several things concern me about that. 1) connectivity - there is still only one firewire in. That's a real problem, imo. 2) ease of upgrade - the only way to access the insides is to have it sent to repair, so there will be no upgrades.

To be completely honest, I would consider purchasing a PC if os 10.6 could be installed and run smoothly on it. I'm not very technical with computers though so have no idea if it's even within the realm of the possible.

Can anyone offer some advice?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 43,388member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by vincentagniello View Post

But several things concern me about that. 1) connectivity - there is still only one firewire in.

FireWire is dead, anyway. Thunderbolt will be your connectivity in the future.

Quote: