Availability of Apple's 15-inch MacBook Pros constrained ahead of redesigned models

Comments

• Reply 101 of 169
    tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 43,388member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by superdx View Post

You can't slot in a more powerful graphics card (or 3). Graphics processing is probably the #1 segment of power users, not programmers (NB: I am a developer myself).

Thunderbolt! Problem solved! Seriously, Thunderbolt GPUs will be big.

Also, I'd think that CPU power is the #1 requirement of Mac Pro users, but I could be wrong. But if I am, why in the world are they wasting money on a Mac Pro when they could get a Windows machine and SLI/Crossfire a ton of MODERN cards for that power?
  • Reply 102 of 169
    ssquirrelssquirrel Posts: 1,196member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by wizard69 View Post

BS! Servicing a hard drive is not unreasonably difficult. Your statement is actually pretty insulting, as it implies that people are too stupid to effectively work on their own hardware.

That's b/c they are. Not even on a straight intelligence level, but their technology intelligence. My mom can program a VCR. God help her w/a computer. Explaining things 50 times doesn't make it stick either. Also, it's only insulting if you are not capable of working on the machine yourself. You are, so why should you feel insulted?
  • Reply 103 of 169
    sddavesddave Posts: 24member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by loveandcapture View Post

It's disheartening to hear about the Mac Pro possibly going bye-bye... I bought the most recent model in late 2010, and it's been a total dream (video editor/musician here).

Amazing - until just about a year ago, there was no reason to be dubious about Apple's intentions in this space. Now... yikes. If no refresh of the Pro comes along, there's the answer, and it's time to look elsewhere.

Exactly why I had to build my "mackintosh", to go along with my MBP and iPad ... and the mini just isn't enough.
  • Reply 104 of 169