Apple rejects Greenpeace data center estimate as inaccurate

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 48
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ClemyNX View Post

Agree, but people that try to live in an ecologic way are not only doing it because they think it helps to change the world, they also do it because it does help change the world.

Ideally, yes, but typically I see people focus on aspect without any perception of other areas, or worse, knowledge of but a lack of concern for other areas for whatever reason. The latter surely makes one a hypocrite.

That said, the world isn't run by everyone doing the same thing and having the same interests. Diversity is part of the formula for a community. For instance, I enjoy art but I am not an artist. I leave that for those with the passion to devote their lives to creating things that have an indirect benefit to the world and yet are beneficial.

I have no problem with you being a member of Greenpeace or with the organization itself. We need these organizations (and more) in the world, but they do along track record of hypocrisy and not seeing the trash heap for the trash (variance on forest for the trees metaphor).

My biggest issue with these organizations is they use emotion and deception to make a point which might work in the short run but ultimately it tends to back fire. Just look at Mike Daisey's efforts. Now one could argue that Apple has done more in a shorter time because of his lies but does that make it right? Is that the end or just a victory of a small skirmish that will ultimately do more harm than good?