Users raise questions about Apple's security after iCloud hacks

Posted:
in iCloud edited January 2014
A small number of iCloud accounts reportedly protected by secure, randomly generated passwords have been compromised, prompting speculation by users that a security breach may have occurred on Apple's servers.

The details come from a thread on the Apple Support Communities forum, where users of Apple's iCloud service have voiced concern that their accounts were compromised. One of the affected people, with the username "solargaze," said their Me.com e-mail address was hacked into and began sending out spam on Wednesday.

"I never use my @me email for anything, and I guarantee someone didn't break into the account by guessing my password (or brute force methods) — it's a pseudoly randomly generated string of 15 numbers, letters (upper and lower case) and symbols (I worked in IT for many years and am perhaps overly zealous about password security, which makes memorization a real pain)," they wrote.

"I'm worried that Apple's iCloud servers themselves got hacked, as I see there are a few other people on the forums who are reporting that their account was used for spam in the last few hours."

A second thread was also started this week by another user experiencing similar issues. The threads have a relatively small number of replies and reader views, suggesting any possible coordinated hacking of iCloud accounts was not widespread.

Users affected by the apparent string of hacks say they found a series of spam e-mails in the "Sent" folder of their iCloud e-mail account. The advertisements were sent to users' contacts that were synced with iCloud, and were related to "making money on your home computer."

"I'm an IT professional with 10 years experience, and wouldn't fall for a phishing scam even on my drunkest of days," user "tsnow20" wrote in the same thread. "No, my password wasn't guessed either. Trust me."

iCloud