Lawyers

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Scott made a very good point about attorneys in the thread about Fran. Since my reponse would have had nothing to do with the original topic, I'm being good and starting a new thread.

Scott said something to the effect of "there are two kind of lawyers, dirt bag lawyers, and the kind that do nothing about dirt bag lawyers." I apologize if that's not verbatim, but it's close.

Here's my thought. First of all, I'm not a defense lawyer, which are generally thought by many to be the scum of the earth. I'm a deputy Attorney General, and as such I am generally on the other side of the aisle.

I agree with you that the tactics of many defense lawyers, especially those we hear about in the news, have fallen to a level of pre-humanity. However, the role of a defense lawyer is CRUCIAL, it's just misunderstood. Defense lawyers are supposed to protect the constitutional rights of a defendant, and insure that a trial is fair, and that due process is protected. As an officer of the court, it's the job of a defense lawyer to simply be sure that their client is given the FAIREST trial possible.

This doesn't mean they are supposed to get their client off.

While disgusting, many of the tactics do serve a legitimate purpose. While we deplore the idea of a murder going free, the system is designed to error on the side of procedure. The idea is that it's okay to set a guitly person free, but it's NOT okay to convict an innocent person. That's the whole foundation of the system.

A good attorney will do their best to be sure that the fairest trial is granted their client.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 34
    Fair enough.
  • Reply 2 of 34
    scottscott Posts: 7,431member
    It's funny you mention defense lawyers. I have almost no problem with them.