First look at Apple's 'next generation MacBook Pro' with photos

Comments

• Reply 41 of 81
    gwmacgwmac Posts: 1,807member

God bless them for including HDMI out. That is really a big deal for a lot of people and makes it even more attractive than it already is. 

• Reply 42 of 81

Quote:

Originally Posted by JerrySwitched26 View Post

Is it my imagination, or is the 17 inch MBP missing from the Apple website?

I couldn't find it.  Is it discontinued?

17 inch  RIP

• Reply 43 of 81
    rufworkrufwork Posts: 130member

The RAM isn't user upgradeable, is it?

• Reply 44 of 81
    conrailconrail Posts: 489member

Quote:

Originally Posted by cameronj View Post

Yikes.

I'm a computer technician.  It's really nice that someone who bought a Mac laptop 4 years ago with 1 GB of RAM and Leopard can jack it up to 4 GB of RAM and run Lion acceptably well.  Without that upgrade, no dice.  So you can certainly imagine someone buying a basic configuration today, and in 5 years wanting to take advantage of that vaunted Apple longevity by upgrading the RAM and installing Mac OS 10.11 Pussy Cat.  No longer possible.  Not cool.  And not for nerds only.  What a ridiculous comment.

Now if they would just stop hijacking the battery life.  Lion kept telling me my battery was failing on my 2008 MBP (last one before the unibody) and it wasn't charging, but after reinstalling Snow Leopard, my battery magically fixed itself!

• Reply 45 of 81
    rufworkrufwork Posts: 130member

Well, the hard drive probably is upgradeable, though not easily.  The Airs have upgradeable HD, just not RAM.

• Reply 46 of 81
    tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 43,388member

Quote:

Originally Posted by rufwork View Post

Well, the hard drive probably is upgradeable, though not easily.  The Airs have upgradeable HD, just not RAM.

Looks like the retina Pro has an HDD card with a different shape, so it'll be a while before third party replacements are available.

• Reply 47 of 81