Apple seeks Samsung Galaxy S III injunction before US launch [u]

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 66
    tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 43,388member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gatorguy View Post

TS, personally I think copyrights are more appropriate for software, but I'm far from an expert.

What (and maybe you're the wrong person to ask), in summary, is the difference in protection afforded to patents and copyrights?

Since patents are supposed to be protection of an implementation of an idea (not the idea itself) and software, by definition, is an implementation, it seems like that would be valid…

But (and with very little knowledge of my own in this regard) I'm thinking that entire pieces of software should be copywritten (not patented) and the specific implementation of a feature within that software heretofore unseen in any software could be patented.

I dunno. I just think that intellectual property, regardless of form, should be protected in some way, even if it's not a patent.

• Reply 62 of 66
    gatorguygatorguy Posts: 24,213member

Yeah I'm probably the wrong guy to ask but I'll at least tell you how I understand it.image

The basic difference (I think??) between the protection of a software copyright and patent is that a copyright would protect the expression of that idea used by the programmer/owner, but that the actual processes/methods used to accomplish it would not be protected. In other words Google couldn't copy Apple's data tapping implementation if it was protected by copyright, but they could create their own version of it from scratch.  

A comparison I had seen somewhere uses Microsoft Word and Corel Wordperfect as examples. MS has a copyright on Word so that Corel could not legally copy it. But they could still legally create their own expression of Word features to use for Wordperfect.