RIM's survival until BlackBerry 10 all about cash preservation

Comments

• Reply 41 of 94
    vinney57vinney57 Posts: 1,162member

It's sad to see people lose their jobs but it's a fact of life and something we all face from time to time. They're all well-educated intelligent people and no doubt some of them will take the opportunity to start their own successful businesses. It's also hard for top management but they are extremely well compensated and frankly it's their fucking job to observe the way the world rotates and have the courage to pivot in time. The "innovator's dilemma" is such a common pattern that it's almost a cliché. They've been teaching it at Harvard for years. I have very little sympathy for them.

• Reply 42 of 94
    ankleskaterankleskater Posts: 1,287member

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheOtherGeoff View Post

Ballmer on the other hand....

Not a fan of his. But, with his billions, he needs no sympathy from anyone. I have a small degree of admiration because he sure does not need to continue in his pressure cooker of a job. Why not retire like his brother Bob M. at Apple?

• Reply 43 of 94
    macbook promacbook pro Posts: 1,605member
    sr2012 wrote: »
    At this stage RIM would have to pay me $500 to even touch a Playbook.
    What nobody seems to talk about is how the BES value proposition eroded. At first everybody was like, oh, can't use iPhone, corporate email security is lousy. Then, a few years ago, the wheels totally came off the BES stuff, suddenly iPhone was everywhere in corporate.
    Why has RIM not addressed this fundamental issue?

Research in Motion hasn't addressed the fundamental issue because they are a one trick pony. One heck of a trick but once another pony learned the trick the trick was unimpressive especially since the other pony had dozens of tricks.