Programming on Mac

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014

Hello guys!

I am an computer engineering student and I wanted to ask you how much useful the Macs are when it comes to programming.

I need C, C++ and Java for my programming. I use a windows desktop now. I wanted to ask you guys if I could use a MacBook Air for programming.

Will I be able to compile and run C, C++, Java programs on Mac OS X.

Or u can give an advice on how are the Macs for Computer Engineering??

Thank you!! :)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member

With the Development Tools including Xcode installed, the Mac is arguably the best programming environment on any platform. Unlike your current environment where the development environment costs an arm and a leg, Apple's development environments have a long tradition of being free. Prior to MacOS X, there were several expensive third-party development environments for the Mac, but Apple Macintosh Programmers Workbench (MPW) was absolutely free. The development environment for NeXTstep/OpenSTEP was free. For most of its history, Xcode was free. Under Snow Leopard, Apple moved Xcode to the Mac App Store and jacked its price up to $5.00. However, it is my understanding that this fantastic IDE is now free once again. Xcode is built around GCC, the GNU Compiler Collection. GCC includes Unix-standard C, C++, and many other languages. Although Java is now an optional download, Xcode includes built-in support for Java. You may run any of Xcode's supported compilers and many others from the Terminal command line if that is your choice.

You will be well-served if you go to the Programming area of this forum and ask questions about the specific types of programming that you want to do. C and C++ are not types of programming. They are programming languages.

• Reply 2 of 6
    mr. me wrote: »