Apple's $74B overseas cash hoard leads all U.S. tech companies

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 51
    reefoidreefoid Posts: 158member

Quote:

Originally Posted by jragosta View Post

Nonsense. That's a silly, arbitrary definition. Using the tax laws in a legal manner is simply following tax rules. Only people who want to mindlessly attack someone call it a loophole.

Nice try, but its not arbitrary at all.  A tax loophole is:

Note that its an ambiguity in the system, not something that is planned for in the rules.

Just to be clear here, I am not accusing Apple of using loopholes to avoid tax, they may or may not be but I'm not an expert so can't comment on that.  This was in response to your previous post where your definition of 'loophole' was not correct.

• Reply 42 of 51
    shadowxprshadowxpr Posts: 162member
    Well if overseas its that big they are well over 100billion overall. Plz apple make a big move! Buy a cable company and disrupt entertainment giving a la cart live streaming tv channels. Or buy nintendo and disrupt both handhelds and consoles with a iPhone/iPod controller case and a iPad/apple tv Bluetooth controller with air play integration. Or disrupt the telecoms by buying a US cellular company and add cellular to all apple products with a single account plus VoIP on each one.

Come on do something!!!
  • Reply 43 of 51
    What? You don't grasp that allowing a free riders to exploit the best nation to operate from is a bad result? That's the real short version. Taxes are part of the deal. They were at the beginning and they still are. Free riders destroy the cradle of capitalism. No legal framework, no infrastructure and a paucity of educated workers is what's bad about these tax concession demands.

FWIW, capitol investments within the U.S. receive tax benefits - called depreciation.
  • Reply 44 of 51
    robin hood wrote: »