Apple "rubber-banding," "pinch-to-zoom" patents challenged by Samsung witnesses

1234568»

Comments

• Reply 141 of 157
    emacs72emacs72 Posts: 356member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hattig View Post

Samsung makes some extremely good products, and you shouldn't let some corporate shenanigans cloud your future purchases.

yes.

being vendor neutral is the only way to really appreciate and enjoy the marvels of human ingenuity.  i do not and will never limit myself to any one brand; there's some really great stuff out there from Apple and other companies.

• Reply 142 of 157
    hill60hill60 Posts: 6,992member

Quote:

Originally Posted by jsebrech View Post

... i just don't like their arrogant "we invented it all" attitude. As a software developer i also am fundamentally opposed to software patents, all of them, which is why i'm rooting for android on the patent front.

Are you rooting for Google's patent application for a software implementation of drop down notifications in Android, do you like it?

• Reply 143 of 157

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustAdComics View Post

That's VERY cool! Thanks for that bit of history - I'm a sucker for facts like this :)

On an even more unrelated note, did you know that one form of computer memory relied upon standing waves in tubes of mercury? It was called Delay Line Memory. From Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delay_line_memory

I wasn't aware of the tubes of mercury -- but was aware of magnetorestrictive delay lines -- where, essentially, you successively twist a coil of wire and the bits flow down the wire and are read at the other end, rinse and repeat.  AIR, it was used in an NCR computer of the early 1950-1960s.

In 1958 I went to work for the company (Consolidated Electrodynamics Corporation) that developed the Datatron computer and sold the rights to Burrourghs.

http://tjsawyer.com/B205Home.htm