D.I.Y. wall repair - any advice?

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
What is the best way (for someone with no experience) to smooth out a plaster wall? I had workmen rebuild a wall for me and they've left it uneven with lumps. The paint won't sit on it without lumps and it looks like I'll have to sand down some areas, and try and build up others.

But I've got no experience in this area and trying to get the workmen to sort it out is a no hoper.

I've been told I can:

1. Use plaster of Paris and skim over the paint, then paint again.

2. Use wall plaster and add in PVA to make it adhere to the painted wall, ,and then paint over.

2. Use Polyfilla and fill in directly + use sandpaper to smoothen down the walls

3. Use lightweight board and staple directly onto the uneven wall, then paint over

4. Use wall paper?

5. Live with it.

No. 4 would be awful. I don't like wallpaper. No.5 isn't an option - I get wound up everytime I think of having paid £6K whiilst I was working abroad to a company whom I trusted and gave them the keys to my apartment.

I'm looking for a DIY solution, having read in several DIY books what options I have.

Just a bit worried about botching up a job that I relied on professional workmen to do.

Has anyone any experience in this area?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    mydomydo Posts: 1,888member
    Is is plaster or dry wall?

I'd do with #1. Sand the paint down if you can and then spackle with a large enough blade. Sand, spackle, sand, spackle over and over until it's smooth. If it's not smooth do it again and again. Often you have do a area 4-6 inches larger than the bumps.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    They should be the ones to fix it...

If you want to do it yourself -- follow mydo's advice...
  • Reply 3 of 16
    addaboxaddabox Posts: 12,665member
    Like Mydo said, it makes a difference if it's plaster or drywall, but in general:

Your main areas of concern are: adherence and slumping.