Buying Advice: Mac Mini vs. iMac (2012)

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014

Hey guys,

I'm in the market for a new desktop Mac to replace my 2007 24" iMac before the end of the year. I'm a graphic designer using Adobe CS apps and occasionally Final Cut Express and iMovie. I plan to get the Fusion drive regardless of which Mac I buy. Would I be OK with the Mini (maxing out to 16GB RAM)? I could save around $500-$600 vs. the iMac (will need to buy a new monitor).

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 38
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,321moderator
    Mini:
    2.3GHz quad-i7
    1TB Fusion ($250)
    16GB RAM ($80 - http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=9953A0C6A5CA7304 )

23" IPS - $222 - make sure to get one with a decent brightness and IPS or similar panel:
    http://www.amazon.com/Dell-UltraSharp-U2312HM-IPS-Monitor/dp/B005LN1JEC

Keyboard/mouse - ~$100

Total: $799 + $250 + $80 + $222 + $100 = $1451

iMac:
    21.5" quad-i5 (slower than the Mini, smaller display, same resolution) or 27" quad-i5 (slower than Mini, bigger display, higher resolution)
    1TB Fusion ($250)
    16GB RAM ($95 - http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/iMac/2011/DDR3_21.5_27 )

Total:
    21.5" = $1299 + $250 + $95 = $1644
    27" = $1799 + $250 + $95 = $2144

One thing to consider with the Adobe CS Suite is the GPU. They added CUDA acceleration to some things so the NVidia GPU in the iMacs will help in some cases:

http://www.barefeats.com/aecs6.html

The Intel graphics in the Mini will be fine for the majority of the apps though.
  • Reply 2 of 38

Really appreciate the analysis!

Is it safe to assume that CUDA isn't as crucial in Adobe apps like InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator? Has integrated graphics of the Mac Mini been much of a problem for "standard" usage? 

I tend to hang on to my Macs for as long as I can. Any reason to believe the "maxed out" Mini wouldn't be somewhat obsolete-proof?

• Reply 3 of 38