Apple supplies third beta of iOS 6.1 to developers

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 33
    File a bug report guys.
    I'm a iOS developer and the engineers at apple really look at the reports.
    http://techtips.salon.com/report-bug-iphone-3668.html
  • Reply 22 of 33

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shogun View Post

This is a UI usability nightmare, I suggest.  

It's like teaching people the power button will turn power on or off, unless the clock is within five minutes to the hour, in which case your power button will activate an ear piercing siren noise...  

The home screen UI follows a pretty simple principle:   When you open an app from the home screen, pressing Home takes you back to the page and folder that you were looking at.  (Search is an exception.)

Why is this a good design?

• When you accidentally press the Home button, it's very easy to correct your mistake.  Just tap the app again.  No need to find the folder again.

• When you open a folder and tap the wrong app, it's very easy to correct your mistake.  Just press Home and then tap on the correct app.  No need to find the folder again.

• When you're working with related apps, this reduces the amount of work required to switch between them.  For example, I have a "News" folder with a bunch of the news apps (Hourly News, Reeder, etc.) that I check on a regular basis.  I can easily open the News folder, open Hourly News, play the news, press Home, then open Reeder.  This would be more tedious if home screen folders closed automatically.

• It prevents the Home button from being disorienting.  You can immediately recognize where you are.  Same page, same folder open.  (It sounds like you're asking for "same page, no folder open" which doesn't sound clearly better or less confusing.)

• Reply 23 of 33
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    m0dest wrote: »