Apple suppliers say iPhone 5 demand still strong, iPad mini cannibalizing 9.7" iPad

Comments

• Reply 21 of 60

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaHarder View Post

"He also added that demand for the iPad mini remains strong, suggesting consumer preferences are simply shifting to the smaller form factor"...

A device that's primarily hand-held, providing near-identical functionality to a larger/heavier/more costly one is doing well in a smaller/lighter/cheaper package... You Don't Say?

Well some people, on here, certainly never thought it could ever happen!!

• Reply 22 of 60
    jkichlinejkichline Posts: 1,369member
    My iPad mini is my favorite so far and I own all versions of iPad. I'm a developer and need to test on each. The form factor is the best part. It's light and portable and feels like you are carrying a booklet and not a small notebook. Surprisingly I don't miss the reduction in size and it still feels like a full iPad to me. If they add an A6X chip and Retina, nothing could touch it. Make it $499 and it will sell like hotcakes. (which is a silly phrase because I'm not sure hotcakes sell much faster than pancakes, french toast or other breakfast pastry)
  • Reply 23 of 60
    ivladivlad Posts: 742member

It's not cannibalizing anything. iPad mini still sells all those apps, games, music, books and movies. Apple wins anyway. Apple even talked about this on their financial call. They want more people to have iPad. Doesn't matter which one.

• Reply 24 of 60
    rogifanrogifan Posts: 10,669member
    quadra 610 wrote: »
    <span style="color:rgb(24,24,24);font-family:arial, helvetica, sans-serif;line-height:18px;"> but total iPad sales for the holiday quarter may prove lower than market watchers expect, as the iPad mini cannibalizes sales of the new fourth-generation iPad.</span>

<span style="color:rgb(24,24,24);font-family:arial, helvetica, sans-serif;line-height:18px;">lol wut?</span>