Rumor: Apple to bring Mac mini production to U.S. in 2013

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 39
    As long as the quality does not suffer and price does not go up, I am fine with it.
  • Reply 22 of 39
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    hudson1 wrote: »
    From a totally different angle and admitting I'm not a tax expert.... the USA has high corporate tax rates and the Mac mini is believed to be a low margin product.  Maybe the tax implications to Apple are better for USA production of the mini instead of a high margin model.

That sounds like a reasonable argument/hypothesis to me.
  • Reply 23 of 39
    ksec wrote: »
    What financial benefits does it have when product are made in US?

Higher pay for Cook once in Office¡
    iftekhar wrote: »
    just wondering why you guys are posting old news?!

Because that is still more informative than your post.
    winter wrote: »
    Looking forward to having a Mac made in the US.

Patriotism aside, why are you looking forward to this? I don't think the hardware and quality won't change as a result.
  • Reply 24 of 39
    Once I saw the word"Digitimes" I just had to post. Almost laughable!!
  • Reply 25 of 39

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEMAC1NT0SH View Post

Once I saw the word"Digitimes" I just had to post. Almost laughable!!

True. Yet, fwiw, their recent reporting has been moving markets. CNBC has become their megaphone.

• Reply 26 of 39

Quote:

Originally Posted by anantksundaram View Post

True. Yet, fwiw, their recent reporting has been moving markets. CNBC has become their megaphone.

It's sad what passes for journalism in this country these days.

• Reply 27 of 39
    I'd be a bit more impressed if these news stories didn't claim that Foxconn would be building these factories. That leaves the real executive and technical expertise off-shore, with Americans--and very few of them in automated factories--merely providing the labor.
  • Reply 28 of 39
    ksecksec Posts: 1,569member

Quote: