Service for pirating iOS apps abruptly closes, cites 'stagnant' community

Comments

• Reply 41 of 89
    hmmhmm Posts: 3,405member

Quote:

Originally Posted by gopiballava View Post

I'm a developer. I disagree. There actually aren't any *good* options.

If you have two versions of the app, free and paid, then you get people writing reviews for only one. The free version will mainly get bad reviews in many cases since the people who didn't like it review it. Searches will sometimes produce the wrong version. People may not notice the free version.

In app purchase gets lots of annoyed complaints about how the app price is misleading and it really isn't free.

I've noticed a lot of game developers go the route of a free or cheap app with content in the form of customizations that can be purchased. Apple likes cheap apps. They make their money primarily off hardware sales. Their breakdowns show this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by wizard69 View Post

Frankly nobody wants ad versions except for Google. Everyone that I've had ends up being a mess to use because of the ad system. It is far better to gamble a dollar or even ten on the unknown app, then it is to deal with ad supported software.

Didn't google actually mention that the majority of their mobile profits come from in app advertising?

• Reply 42 of 89

Originally Posted by coolfactor View Post

You have "Administrator" next to your handle, but the above statement contradicts that. I make a living off of making software. I have my own software company.

Dang, do we really need a sticky thread that explains what ¡ means?

I'm gonna consider it, given the number of users that use it now instead of "/s" (which I've never liked).

• Reply 43 of 89
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    Dang, do we really need a sticky thread that explains what ¡ means?

I'm gonna consider it, given the number of users that use it now instead of "/s" (which I've never liked).

I think we've lost this one.