Reinstalling OS X

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Well I know this is a very common question, but bare with me please. I got my iMac about 2 weeks ago and I want to format and have a fresh start. I'm new to Mac so I have never done such a thing before on a Mac. I want OS 9 and OS X like the New iMac came and everything. I don't need separate partitions for anything unless it is recommended. If you could help me that would be great. Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    ghost_user_nameghost_user_name Posts: 22,667member
    Okay, here's a step-by-step guide that *should* work.

1. Insert the Mac OS 9 Install CD.

2. Restart your Mac while pressing the letter 'c' on your keyboard. That makes the Mac startup from the CD. You can release the 'c' key when you hear the CD spin up and see the Happy Mac screen.

3. Double-click the CD on the desktop, open the Utilities folder, and open Drive Setup.

4. Select your drive and click Initialize. The default settings should be fine.

5. Quit Drive Setup.

6. Open the Mac OS Install program.

7. Run the installer, restart your Mac, and eject the CD.

9. Insert the Mac OS X Install CD.

6. Install Mac OS X, restart, fill out the registration, etc.

That should cover it. Usually it's just a good idea to install OS9 before OSX because a few people have reported problems installing 9 after X.

Good luck!

PS. There may be some "software restore" CDs that came with the iMac you may want to check also. They might contain some extra things that aren't part of the "System install" that you'll want to such as iDVD or iMovie.

[ 05-03-2002: Message edited by: starfleetX ]</p>
  • Reply 2 of 6
    bellebelle Posts: 1,574member
    You're probably best going with the Software Restore option. You'll find the CDs in the little packet. This will restore your iMac to "factory condition".

Please remember to back up any files you don't want to lose first!
  • Reply 3 of 6
    fonerootfoneroot Posts: 102member