Home Depot abandoning BlackBerry platform in favor of Apple's iPhone and iOS

Comments

• Reply 21 of 66

Hopefully the same thing (wait for reveal, abandon) doesn't happen when Apple redoes the Mac Pro.

It obviously will, but that will be mostly people who refuse to change. Whether enough new ones fill the gap is the important part.

• Reply 22 of 66
    I love Apple and iOS, but just like BB, the iPhone will fade. There are tends/fads that come and go. I studied them for years in College. An example is Sony, Nokia, and even Blackberry. Not to say that BB will ever regain the position they once were, but you have to remember; Many corporations still rely on Blackberry and their IT departments are not yet ready to switch platforms esp because of the Office Suits. And their new Z10 is solid. Right now Apple has the best devices on the market. There is no comparison IMHO, but they too will only be able to stay on top for so long.... We'll talk in 3-5 years and you'll see what I"m saying.

Now the PC, Mac, and Linux desktops.... Thats a different story. I see linux taking the reign in the next 10-15 years (for corporations that is).
  • Reply 23 of 66
    colper wrote: »
    I love Apple and iOS, but just like BB, the iPhone will fade. There are tends/fads that come and go. I studied them for years in College. An example is Sony, Nokia, and even Blackberry. Not to say that BB will ever regain the position they once were, but you have to remember; Many corporations still rely on Blackberry and their IT departments are not yet ready to switch platforms esp because of the Office Suits. And their new Z10 is solid. Right now Apple has the best devices on the market. There is no comparison IMHO, but they too will only be able to stay on top for so long.... We'll talk in 3-5 years and you'll see what I"m saying.

Now the PC, Mac, and Linux desktops.... Thats a different story. I see linux taking the reign in the next 10-15 years (for corporations that is).